Jean-Pierre Sauvage

Jean-Pierre Sauvage

Jean-Pierre Sauvage (10/21/1944 -) is a French supermolecular chemist (Photo: Université de Strasbourg). Prof. Sauvage shares the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 with Prof. Fraser Stoddart and Prof. Ben Ferringa.


  • Education and Experiences

1971 Ph.D, Strasbourg University (J.-M. Lehn)
1973-1974 Postdoc, University of Oxford (M. L. H. Green)
1988- CNRS Research Director


  •  Awards and Honors

1978 Bronze Medal from the CNRS
1988 CNRS Silver medal
1991 Izatt-Christensen Award in Macrocyclic Chemistry
1992 Donders Lectureship, University of Utrecht
1994 Prelog Gold Medal ,ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
2000 Centenary Lecturer (Royal Society of Chemistry, United Kingdam)
2005 Pierre Sue Prize of the French Society of Chemistry
2005 Catalan Sabatier Prize of the Royal Spanish of Society of Chemistry
2008 RB Woodward Award in Porphyrin Chemistry
2016 Nobel Prize (Chemistry) for “the design and synthesis of molecular machines”


  • Research

Sauvage is a pioneer of catenane and trefoil knots synthesis using metal complexes as templates. In addition, he has synthesized molecular motors and molecular muscles possessing metal complex moieties.

Angew. Chem. Inl. Ed. Engl. 28 (1989) No. 2

Angew. Chem. Inl. Ed. Engl. 39 (2000) No. 18


  • Research

He reported more than 400. H-index as of 2007 is 81.

  • References

Stoddart, J. F.;  Chem. Soc. Rev., 2009, 38, 1521

Durola, F., Sauvage, J-P., Wenger, O. S.; Coordination Chemistry Reviews, 2010,  254, 1748.

  • Related Links

  • Related Books

  • Related Links

, ,